

DRAFT MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY HELD ON 20 JUNE 2018

Venue: Hilton Tower Bridge 5 More London Place, Tooley Street London SE1 2BY, UK From 13.30 to 17.00

Welcome and introduction

- The meeting was called to order at 13.30 under the chairmanship of Ric Hobby.
- The General Assembly was validly convened and the required quorum (in conformity
 with article 34.1 of the IADSA Statutes) for deliberation regarding the items listed on the
 agenda was met.
- An attendance sheet setting out the names of all members present or represented by proxy at the meeting was signed prior to the meeting by each member or proxyholders.
- The antitrust statement was read out: "Although it is appropriate to discuss matters
 dealing with government policies and regulations concerning ethical and scientific
 issues involving food supplements, we should not discuss an individual member's
 specific products, prices, sales, marketing or pricing activities or plans which could
 affect competition between companies in the food supplement business".
- Ric Hobby opened the meeting with a brief introduction of the IADSA operations, its structure and the role that members of the Board have played together with the Executive Council, Company Council and Chairman Emeritus. Ric highlighted the significant progress that had been made over the past year.



AGM administrative session

After consideration regarding agenda items 3 to 7, the General Assembly agreed to:

- Adopt unanimously the minutes of the 2017 annual meeting in Seoul on the motion of Bruce Dennison, seconded by Michael McGuffin.
- Recommend unanimously to the Board of Directors the approval of the 2017 annual accounts on the motion of Steve Mister seconded by Gerhard Gans.
- Approve unanimously the 2018 proposed budget on the motion of Michael McGuffin seconded by Gerhard Gans.
- On the motion of Michael McGuffin seconded by James Griffiths, unanimously discharge the members of the Board of Directors (Ric Hobby Chair, Bernd Haber Vice Chair, Michelle Stout Treasurer) for the exercise of their mandate in the financial year closed on 31/12/2017 and for the time period from 01/01/2018 up to 20/06/2018.
- Elect the following persons as new members of the Board of Directors:
 - Michelle Stout, Chair,
 - Steve Mister, Vice Chair,
 - Gerhard Gans, Treasurer.

The elections were overseen by two members of the Executive Council Michael McGuffin (President, American Herbal Products Association (AHPA)) and Peter Loosen (Chair, Food Supplements Europe (FSE)).

Acknowledge Ric Hobby as the new Chairman Emeritus.

The General Assembly thanked Ric Hobby and Bernd Haber, who stepped down from their roles of Chair and Vice-Chair for their work to support IADSA over the past years.



International Alliance of Dietary/ Food Supplement Associations

IADSA ongoing activities

The Secretariat presented a) the latest developments in IADSA and b) an introduction to Codex and possible opportunities and challenges for the sector. The results of the Trust Survey were also presented to the meeting. It was emphasised that the survey was based on the views of IADSA members of how the sector is perceived, how it compares to other sectors and the areas that need to be considered to build trust further. It was noted that the distribution of the results of this survey should remain within the membership.

Announcements

- IADSA Grant | 2017 winner review: Daniel Quek Chairman of the Health Supplements Industry Association of Singapore (HSIAS) and the ASEAN Alliance of Health Supplement Associations (AAHSA) presented the progress made on the Vietnam project. It was recalled that the objective of the project was to help reduce technical barriers to trade for the health supplement industry via full and uniform implementation of the ASEAN harmonized technical standards for Health Supplements in Vietnam. Daniel emphasised the relevance of this project for other ASEAN member associations and value it can bring to the region.
- IADSA Grant | 2018 winner announcement: The 2018 IADSA grant was awarded to ANDI Colombia for their project "Filling the gap: discovering Dietary Supplements consumption to promote regulatory evolution". Ana Maria Vesga Gaviria, Director of ANDI highlighted the importance of this project in helping the Colombian association to demonstrate the contribution of dietary supplements to public health at this particular time when Colombia, member of the Pacific Alliance, is addressing the implementation of the agreement with Chile, Mexico and Peru.

ABIAD, HADSAP and Natural Health Products New Zealand were thanked for their participation and ideas to help strengthen the credibility of the sector at national level.



- IADSA leadership award: With a round of applause, BH Lim received the IADSA leadership award for his scientific knowledge and expertise and consistent and tireless effort in assisting ASEAN in its harmonisation process.
- 2019 Annual Meeting location: The General Assembly welcomed the proposal from CMA to host the 2019 IADSA week and General Assembly on 10 -12 April in Sydney Australia. Further information will follow in due course.

A.O.B

Ric Hobby noted that a number of issues regarding the IADSA Articles of Association and Internal Rules had been highlighted by members over the past months and these would require some amendments to ensure clarity. These would be reviewed by the new Board and addressed at the next Annual Meeting in Sydney.

The meeting was closed following a short presentation by Simon Pettman of 10 memorable moments that have marked the 20 years of the Alliance.

Ric Hobby thanked everyone present for attending the 20th anniversary of the Alliance in London.

List of participants attached (members with voting rights in bold).

FIRST NAME	SURNAME	ORGANISATION
Alissa	Neufeld	Nature's Sunshine Products
Ana Maria	Vesga Gaviria	ANDI
Andrew	Shao	AMWAY
Antje	Preussker	BLL AK NEM
Bernd	Haber	BASF / IADSA Vice Chair
Boon-Hwa	Lim	DSM
Bruce	Dennison	HPA SA
Camilla	Sorensen	USANA
Carl	Gibson	CMA
Carlos	Torres Romay	ANAISA
Cheryl	Luther	NSF
Daniel	Quek	HSIAS
David	Richardson	CRN UK
Ellen	Schutt	GOED
Fernanda	Simon Paim Nogueira	ABIAD
Gerhard	Gans	DSM / IADSA Chair Company Council
Gert	Krabichler	Merck Consumer Health
Harry	Rice	GOED
Hideko	Ikeda	JIHFS
Howard	Gurney	USANA
Inga	koehler	Pfizer Consumer Healthcare

International Alliance of Dietary/	
Food Supplement Associations	

James	How	Pharmavite
James	Griffiths	US CRN
Janjira	Intra	HFSA
John	Coyle	AMWAY
Jon	Benninger	New Hope
Julian	Cacchioli	Herbalife
Karen	Todd	Kyowa
Kaushik	Desai	HADSA
Ken	Myers	NuSkin / IADSA Vice Chair Company Council
Laure	Normand	Galderma
Lauren	Quinn	Pfizer Consumer Healthcare
Manfred	Ruthsatz	Nestle Health Science
Mariana	Alegre	ALANUR
Michael	McGuffin	АНРА
Michelle	Stout	AMWAY / IADSA Treasurer
Nick	Bennett	CRN UK
Paul	Bolar	Pharmavite
Penny	Viner	EHPM
Peter	Zambetti	Lonza
Peter	Loosen	FSE
Ric	Hobby	Herbalife / IADSA Chair
Sam	Jennings	CRN UK

Samet	Serttas	GTBD
Sergio	Moreno	ANDI
Shinji	Wakisaka	AIFN
Simone	Koenig	Bayer Consumer Care
Steve	Mister	US CRN
Tanja	Karasch	Sanofi
Tatiana	Pires	ABIAD
Tatiana Vaclav	Pires Bazata	ABIAD
Vaclav	Bazata	CASP
Vaclav	Bazata Kawada	CASP

REPRESENTED

ORGANISATION	PROXY TO	
APSKI	HSIAS/ Daniel Quek	
HADSAP	AMWAY / John Coyle	
IASC	AHPA/ Michael McGuffin	
KHSA	AMWAY / John Coyle	
MADSA	HSIAS/ Daniel Quek	
NATURAL HEALTH PRODUCT NZ	CMA/ Carl Gibson	